What's new

mathewbeall

Champion
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I have a system here at work with a CRT I have been using for a few years - a 25". In the past week or so, the green output has just died on it - occasionally, and then comes back. One of the times that it had failed, I put in a different board, and the green was still out, so i concluded its not a board issue.

And it's also not a connectivity issues (I think) - since it just fixes itself for a bit of time. I have some male/female connectors that it plugs into (from the JAMMA wires) - that go up to the monitor input.

So - my question - can a particular gun (green in this case) just start to go "out" like this?

Matt

Yup, but there could be other reasons why it’s not working.
I would recommend buying/borrowing a CRT rejuvenator so you could test if the green gun has gone bad.
I have fixed plenty of tubes with my trusty B&K precision 467. Single guns included.

Perfectly possible for a single gun to go out, and as @BuddyC rightly says this is exactly the kind of fault that a CRT tester/rejuvenator is designed to test/find/fix. Also a humblebrag on the BK467 - it is god-tier and I want one badly. :)

Another common fault is for one of the colour transistors on the neckboard to go, there was an awesome video series where Randy Fromm covered quick fixes to return to service. Swapping the colour transistors around can help quickly test this common fault.

So my suggested course of action would be
1) shuffle the neckboard transistors and see if that helps
2) use a CRT tester/rejuvenator to test and hopefully restore

Cool thanks - probably a transister going is much more a likely culprit.

And like I said - it's completely intermittent - works fine for 90 minutes, then goes out for 20m, repeats in a random pattern.

Matt

Yup could be -

Neckboard socket / pins
Cold solder joints (in various places)
Transistors
Cabinet wiring/monitor wiring