What's new

Napoleon IV

Student
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
20
Location
Louisiana, USA
Hello again, everyone. I've just purchased the CPS3 darksoft board from nonostro through ebay. Now, I'm going to make sure that I understand all the other items I'm going to need, while I'm still shopping:

-Supergun
-Power supply
-signal converter to Composite for CRTs
-DB to USB converters for modern controllers
-Protective Case

and that's all, right? If I'm forgetting anything necessary for the operation of the board, please tell me.
I do want to mention, that I have a worry: Last month when I was being recommended superguns by all of you, none of them were available, and they are still all unavailable. Is there a good supergun that is currently purchasable which I can use for my board?

Thanks again for all the help, this would not have been possible without all of you.
 

ShootTheCore

Legendary
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
4,512
Location
Logan UT
Technically the protective case is optional, but the other items on your list are correct. Didn’t the CRT you’re using have Component inputs rather than Composite though?

As for the SuperGun, you can purchase the AxunWorks unit now, but it’ll be a few months before it ships.

The Undamned USB converters are in stock right now at Paradise Arcade so definitely jump on those ASAP.
 

Napoleon IV

Student
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
20
Location
Louisiana, USA
Technically the protective case is optional, but the other items on your list are correct. Didn’t the CRT you’re using have Component inputs rather than Composite though?
Yes, that's what I meant, it's been a month and I forgot the terms. Thanks for reminding me.

I've purchased the Undamned DB15 to USB converters from arcade paradise (It was these, right? https://paradisearcadeshop.com/products/undamned-db15-usb-decoder?_pos=1&_sid=5ec7a12df&_ss=r )

And I've been offered through DMs to purchase a HAS supergun, which has the specifications which will save me money from having to buy the Component converter. So that's two in one knocked out right there.

I can't say it's abundantly clear which power supply I should be buying- Could someone tell me what I should be looking for (how much voltage the board needs, stuff like that)?
 

IPD

Student
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
49
Reaction score
91
Location
Sweden
I've lately seen several people recommend the Mean Well QP-150-3A power supply. I use a Mean Well MWP-606 myself, but I don't think they are manufactured anymore.
 

Napoleon IV

Student
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
20
Location
Louisiana, USA
I've lately seen several people recommend the Mean Well QP-150-3A power supply. I use a Mean Well MWP-606 myself, but I don't think they are manufactured anymore.
That looks good, but would you or anyone else possibly know of any power supplies that would work with a CPS3 that are cheaper? The mean Well QP-150-3A seems to have a lot of options that I won't use, and I imagine that makes it more expensive. I'll pay that price if I have to, but if I can save money, then y'know...
 

ShootTheCore

Legendary
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
4,512
Location
Logan UT
I use the MeanWell MWP-606 for both of my HAS SuperGuns, but they aren't being produced anymore. The QP-150-3A is a high-quality supply for power-hungry JVS boards like Naomi that need a 3.3V supply line, but it's overkill for JAMMA.

Go for an MeanWell RT-125A - it's $40 from Mouser.
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/MEAN-WELL/RT-125A
 

UltraCombo

Beginner
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
7
Location
Austin
Hey Napoleon - welcome to the AP forums.

CPS3 is a cool platform, and I think once you get all setup, you'll be pretty happy with it. The background update mod that @riiya has produced for CPS3 Third Strike really improves the look of the game - highly recommended you try it with the Darksoft CPS3 Multi.

Let's talk SuperGuns.

As you likely already know, the CPS3 PCB is designed originally for a JAMMA arcade cabinet with a kick harness connector to provide the inputs for the three kick buttons. CPS3 also supports stereo Q Sound as an option by connecting amplified speakers to the RCA line level connectors. Ideally, you'll want a SuperGun that (A) will accept a JAMMA board, (B) provides kick harness support, (C) has a high-quality, adjustable power supply so that the CPS3 board is safe long-term, (D) is safe for the television or upscaler that you connect it to.

I'll be blunt - there's a bunch of SuperGun options out there right now and most of them are garbage. Many SuperGuns either don't attenuate the video output properly (dangerous for your TV or upscaler) or they doesn't provide safe, consistent power (dangerous for the CPS3). Some of them (like the ones made by Electroelectronik) have been known to have bad grounds that can burn out the controllers plugged into them.

The SuperGun on Ebay you linked to is one of the garbage ones. This SuperGun doesn't support the Capcom pinout kick harness so you won't be able to hookup the kick buttons for a CPS3 board without coming up with a custom connecting harness. Secondly, they don't say what kind of power supply they use - there's a dial for adjusting the power from 5.15V to 5.30V, but even 5.15V is too high. JAMMA boards, including CPS3, should be adjusted to be as close to 5.0V as possible. Trust me - stay away from this SuperGun.

There are a few quality SuperGuns that I can recommend that will meet your needs:

1) The Home Arcade System (HAS) is created and sold by @RGB on this forums. You may have to wait a bit to get one, but I think everyone on these forums agree that the HAS is one of the best SuperGuns money can buy. There's a thread (with links to the waiting list) about them here: https://www.arcade-projects.com/threads/home-arcade-system.332/#post-2521

2) The MiniGun was engineered by @Frank_fjs on these forums and is available as an open design that anyone can build. I'm sure someone on the forums here could assemble one for you. Maybe @hatmoose ? Thread is here: https://www.arcade-projects.com/threads/minigun-supergun-an-open-source-supergun.9408/

3) The Axun Workshop SuperGun Mini is engineered by @axunworks and supported by @drfunk2k . You can order it here: https://www.axunworks.com/product-p669501.html

The HAS SuperGun has Composite TV output as an option, but the MiniGun and SuperGun Mini do not. As long as you pick a good converter though, you should be able to get Composite picture without lag. Arcade boards don't output native composite so SuperGuns that have Composite output are likely using a powered converter to provide that functionality anyway.

@axunworks announced that he's working on a device that can convert RGB SCART or VGA Input into Composite or S-Video output. I strongly recommend you pick up one of his converters when it releases if composite video is important to you. Details here: https://www.retrorgb.com/rgb-to-composite-s-video-converter-announced.html
Hello! I was curious your take on this SuperGun.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/393560799470

You may have to scroll to the bottom of the page to see the listing.

Thanks!
 

hatmoose

Champion
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
650
Reaction score
1,359
Location
Auckland
ooooooh boy $750 pingers down for something that has no reveiws, no tests, no community and has not in fact been made yet... I love the appetite for risk, but that's... towards the top end of the risk scale
 

Napoleon IV

Student
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
20
Location
Louisiana, USA
Go for an MeanWell RT-125A - it's $40 from Mouser.
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/MEAN-WELL/RT-125A
Thanks, grabbing that.

Now, I believe I have everything I need:

-CPS3 Darksoft Multi board
-HAS Supergun
-Power Supply
-Case
-DB15 to USB encoders

I just have two more concerns:

Does the HAS Supergun output to a Component signal I can use on my CRT, or will I still need a converter for that? The HAS Supergun is an older model and I don't know what features have been added or removed between revisions. Pic related.
And, what cables will I need for everything to be functional? Currently I'm looking at a 3.5mm audio jack to 2-RCA Audio cable so I can get the sound, and a different cable for the video, but I'm not sure what cable I should be getting for the video, because of my concerns on whether or not I'll need a converter.
 

Attachments

  • has_supergun.jpg
    has_supergun.jpg
    442.7 KB · Views: 77

ShootTheCore

Legendary
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
4,512
Location
Logan UT
That model of HAS outputs an RGB signal, so you’ll need a converter for Component video.

Buy this SCART cable to go from the HAS to the converter:
https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk...-CDi-Colecovision-Intellivision-Panasonic-3DO

Buy this SCART RGB to Component converter:
https://www.retrotink.com/product-page/rgb2comp

And buy these component cables to go from the converter to the CRT:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=320

As for audio, normally mono audio is passed through the HAS to the converter and then out from the convertor‘s audio output ports. The 3.5mm jack on the HAS is mono as well. However, CPS3 also supports stereo audio via two audio ports on its motherboard. The component cables I linked above also include stereo audio cables-simply connect those audio cables into the CPS3 ports rather than the converter’s ports to get stereo sound.
 
Last edited:

ShootTheCore

Legendary
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
4,512
Location
Logan UT
One more thing for your list-if your HAS doesn’t already come with one, you need a kickharness cable to go between the CPS3 and the HAS or else you won’t have any kick buttons in your game. The JAMMA standard only supports four buttons so Capcom adds the extra buttons via their own connector.

You can buy one here (CPS2 and CPS3 use the same kick harness):
https://www.ebay.com/itm/HAS-Parsec...ick-Harness-Connector-Cable-JST-/233954510185
 

Napoleon IV

Student
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
20
Location
Louisiana, USA
Have mercy on my wallet...

Buy this SCART RGB to Component converter:
https://www.retrotink.com/product-page/rgb2comp
This video converter has un-noticable amounts of lag, right? I've heard it talked up in the past but that's my primary concern. Either way it doesn't seem like I have much of an option.

One more thing for your list-if your HAS doesn’t already come with one, you need a kickharness cable to go between the CPS3 and the HAS or else you won’t have any kick buttons in your game
I don't believe that the HAS I got has the kick harness with it, the cord in the image seems to be the one used for power. I'll get that.
 

ShootTheCore

Legendary
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
4,512
Location
Logan UT
According to the specs in the manual, the RetroTink converter is essentially lag-free, so no worries there. LIkewise, the cable shown in your picture of the HAS is indeed the power cable. The spade connectors will need to be connected to your new power supply.

Screen Shot 2021-09-22 at 2.20.41 PM.png


Have mercy on my wallet...

Sorry buddy - I feel your pain. Nothing about arcade hardware is inexpensive. The good news is that with your SuperGun setup you'll have everything you need to play other JAMMA boards as well, such as CPS1, CPS2, Neo-Geo, Namco, Konami boards ... it's a slippery slope. :thumbsup:
 
Last edited:

Napoleon IV

Student
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
20
Location
Louisiana, USA
Alright. Everything's been ordered, I'll start posting asking questions about assembly if I have any once all the parts are here, if not, I'll post the finished product when I'm done with it. Thank you all so much for your help, this project would not have been possible at all without all of you.
The good news is that with your SuperGun setup you'll have everything you need to play other JAMMA boards as well, such as CPS1, CPS2, Neo-Geo, Namco, Konami boards ... it's a slippery slope. :thumbsup:
That's tempting. Suddenly I might be interested in a super street fighter 2 turbo board. We'll see in the future.
 

LemonKing

Beginner
Joined
Aug 19, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
6
Location
NOVA
I have found a supergun that fits my desires, and it's here:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/264500165805
But I'm not sure of how trustworthy it is (or if there is a better product that can suit my needs) and I wanted to ask here first.
The SuperGun on Ebay you linked to is one of the garbage ones. This SuperGun doesn't support the Capcom pinout kick harness so you won't be able to hookup the kick buttons for a CPS3 board without coming up with a custom connecting harness. Secondly, they don't say what kind of power supply they use - there's a dial for adjusting the power from 5.15V to 5.30V, but even 5.15V is too high. JAMMA boards, including CPS3, should be adjusted to be as close to 5.0V as possible. Trust me - stay away from this SuperGun.

I ended up buying that same model of SuperGun from another vendor outside of ebay. It gets hot enough to where I don't feel safe using it for too long. Input connectors are fine but input button binding is annoying and can be triggered during play with some games. So it doesn't get used except for short tests sessions as I work preparing on my mount.

I'm planning to replace it asap once something like the HAS / Axun becomes available again.
 

ShootTheCore

Legendary
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
4,512
Location
Logan UT
Good to hear some feedback from someone that used one of those SuperGuns. It didn't look particularly well-built to me in the photos.

JAMMA boards and the displays & upscalers we hook them up to are expensive - don't risk damaging them with a shoddy SuperGun.
 

Napoleon IV

Student
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
20
Location
Louisiana, USA
Hello again fellas. Great news. The board came in today and I was able to assemble everything without any damage. It's beautiful. However, I do have a few problems:
How am I supposed to plug the MeanWell power supply into the wall? No cords came with the MeanWell power supply.
How do I plug the cords from the HAS supergun into the power supply?
And, finally, on the CD drive, there seems to be a cord coming from it, with similar numbers and letters to the MeanWell powersupply. I have nowhere to plug this cord into. Any thoughts? Also, is there a CD i'm going to need for this drive? I don't know if there's one in there.
Pictured: 1: Power supply where all the cords go, I assume. This is the only side like this.
2: CD Drive wire
3: Wires from the HAS supergun for the power supply
4: picture to show off the board in it's case
 

Attachments

  • 20211006_174857.jpg
    20211006_174857.jpg
    148.5 KB · Views: 28
  • 20211006_174842.jpg
    20211006_174842.jpg
    146.8 KB · Views: 25
  • 20211006_174812.jpg
    20211006_174812.jpg
    153.7 KB · Views: 30
  • 20211006_174748.jpg
    20211006_174748.jpg
    142.9 KB · Views: 31
Top