What's new

deibit

Champion
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
1,739
Reaction score
1,893
Location
Germany
from the specs looks like the ossc only scales to 480p and 720p but that sounds ok for my needs (I plan to use a 480p LCD with it)
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
7,349
Reaction score
8,350
Location
New Bern, NC USA
totally you can just pull the chip and reprogram it like I did.
It's a...

EDIT: It's an AMIC A290021TL
Pretty much any programmer with a PLCC32 eprom adapter should be able to program it.
Ok. Got my adapter. Now how the hell do I open the damn thing???? Feels like I'm about to break it.
 

defor

Professional
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
570
Reaction score
390
Location
a~
lol, make sure the 4 bolts around the VESA mount are out and the 2 screws near the bottom also on the backside are removed
IF there are two small screws holding on the button bar, remove them as well

then you should be able to pop the back off from the front of the case.
I had good luck on my three by doing one side first, then moving around to the top and bottom.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
7,349
Reaction score
8,350
Location
New Bern, NC USA
So I need to pry it with something basically?
 

defor

Professional
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
570
Reaction score
390
Location
a~
i do it by hand...
i can get photos of how it pops apart if you'd like
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
7,349
Reaction score
8,350
Location
New Bern, NC USA
That would be great. Seems really tight.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
7,349
Reaction score
8,350
Location
New Bern, NC USA
Got it. Those damn screws holding the shield on are so soft. I stripped several of them even though my bit was the right size. :/

The chip is surface mount rather than socketed. It programs the same way? Did you post the FW here somewhere already?

EDIT: Found the firmwares.
 

defor

Professional
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
570
Reaction score
390
Location
a~
sorry- went to sleep,
yep- SMT and socketed are identical.

IF you do a good program of the chip and when you solder it back to the PCB, if you get a blinking green LED on power up, then recheck your soldering.
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
7,349
Reaction score
8,350
Location
New Bern, NC USA
Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnd......BOOM!!

260q26p.jpg


Running in 15k here.
 

twistedsymphony

Enlightened
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
11,016
Reaction score
11,721
Location
NH, USA
we're going to have to start a NEC1970 club like how they have PVM clubs on other forums :P
 

Mitsurugi-w

Arcade Admini-Moderator
Staff member
Immortal
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
7,349
Reaction score
8,350
Location
New Bern, NC USA
If only I could find a display that will show RRV.
 

defor

Professional
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
570
Reaction score
390
Location
a~
Wait what? RRV isn't working on it? (I haven't tried yet honestly but if not, I have some ideas to fix it)
 

defor

Professional
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
570
Reaction score
390
Location
a~
it is possible what he's referring to is the sync issues with the 2x6- there are some... interesting ones to say the least, but i'm hoping he gets back to me so i can make a plan of what to test this weekend (I don't have it all setup right this second)
 

Gakman

Professional
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
500
Reaction score
201
Location
Nancy (France)
Is LCD1970NXp the same than the LCD1970NX we're talking about here?
 
Top