What's new

xodaraP

Enlightened
Joined
Sep 21, 2016
Messages
4,399
Reaction score
3,013
Location
Gold Coast, Australia
There's no decrypted Japanese variant of Golden Axe at this point unfortunately and until (if?) that is found there's no way to play it outside of an original encrypted CPU
 

Apocalypse

Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,513
Reaction score
5,943
Location
New-Zealand
Some questions for you sir!
1. Did you ever do this? I'd love to try this game out, but my current version I can't control the car.
2. Is there anyway to load up the superior version of Golden Axe (the Japanese one of course!)
3. Is there any other games where a different region is better, like Golden Axe? Maybe Altered Beast? Shinobi?
1) No. I really don't have much free time. Maybe over the end of year period if my holidays are maintained (we have some issues at work in relation with the covid situation)
2) Yes. Maybe I can send an updated ROM for you to test :)
3) You'll need to ask the experts. I haven't played all games in all regions to tell. :D
 

XtraSmiley

Champion
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
2,623
Reaction score
1,475
Location
St Louis, IL
There's no decrypted Japanese variant of Golden Axe at this point unfortunately and until (if?) that is found there's no way to play it outside of an original encrypted CPU
Never doubt the master!
Some questions for you sir!
1. Did you ever do this? I'd love to try this game out, but my current version I can't control the car.
2. Is there anyway to load up the superior version of Golden Axe (the Japanese one of course!)
3. Is there any other games where a different region is better, like Golden Axe? Maybe Altered Beast? Shinobi?
1) No. I really don't have much free time. Maybe over the end of year period if my holidays are maintained (we have some issues at work in relation with the covid situation)
2) Yes. Maybe I can send an updated ROM for you to test :)
3) You'll need to ask the experts. I haven't played all games in all regions to tell. :D
Awesome, no rush! I may take you up on that, but since I don't have an easy way to burn ROMs at the moment, I'd say pass to someone who can for now for testing, but maybe I'll hit you up in a week or two when I get my burner... :)
 

Apocalypse

Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,513
Reaction score
5,943
Location
New-Zealand
There's no decrypted Japanese variant of Golden Axe at this point unfortunately and until (if?) that is found there's no way to play it outside of an original encrypted CPU
There was also no decrypted romset of Ace Attacker, Dunk Shot and Super League (you understand why). :D
That's just for S16B, on S24 there was no decrypted game at all. ;)
 

Apocalypse

Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,513
Reaction score
5,943
Location
New-Zealand
There's no decrypted Japanese variant of Golden Axe at this point unfortunately and until (if?) that is found there's no way to play it outside of an original encrypted CPU
In fact there is:

MAME said:
ROM_START( goldnaxejd )
ROM_REGION( 0x80000, "maincpu", 0 ) // 68000 code
ROM_LOAD16_BYTE( "bootleg_epr-12540.a7", 0x00000, 0x20000, CRC(601bb784) SHA1(eb6eea4d3b54ac59a82de76e5e5d8f4b60d34cf4) )
ROM_LOAD16_BYTE( "bootleg_epr-12539.a5", 0x00001, 0x20000, CRC(c76c0969) SHA1(d6b4902e7ed8a936dfe7aba8f242668269ce1059) )
 

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,282
Reaction score
184
Location
FRANCE
I try to burn the 27C801 with top3000, but I have this error. How to fix it please?

 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
4,594
Reaction score
5,572
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Your chip is the wrong way up. Or you haven’t selected the right chip. Or the legs of your chip are very dirty.
 

Apocalypse

Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,513
Reaction score
5,943
Location
New-Zealand
Clearly selected the wrong chip, 27C080/27C801 are DIP32 devices, you selected a DIP40 device.
 

evilsim

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
256
Reaction score
184
Location
Sydney
as far as dirty legs go (lol) i had many :)

I use a large soft (and i mean soft it feels like a toothbrush bristle) copper brush and gently brush both outside sets of legs downwards across the length of the leg from chip end to other end.
I then use the brush to brush along-ways the inside of the chip so that the inside legs are brushed too.
you have to be careful and gentle obviously.

This has almost always fixed any pins not being detected in my eprom writer(s).
 
Top