What's new

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Did your motherboard work regularly with the original game?

Do you have a non-encrypted 68000 installed alongisde the z80?
 

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,437
Reaction score
259
Location
FRANCE
yes my mobo from a flash point and worked perfectly. For the 680000 I Use that:

20200729.jpg
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Looks fine. Did you try reseating the ROMS on the multi and check they’re in the right position? What are your DIP switches set to on the multi and motherboard?
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,437
Reaction score
259
Location
FRANCE
without OLED I have black screen after boot so when I move multi dip switch I have this:

20200825.jpg
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Are your chips in the right sockets? You got a pic?
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Also try reseating the multi and make sure it’s correctly orientated by checking the text on the PCB.
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Might be even wise to remove all the EPROM chips and reinsert them again for good measure.
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia
ReSEAT, meaning take off all the chips carefully and then reinsert them to make sure they’re in the right sockets.
 

AlxUnderBase

Champion
Joined
Jan 25, 2018
Messages
1,775
Reaction score
1,889
Location
Constanta,Romania
This is what happened with my kit too... but i thought this happened because i plugged the multi pcb backwards ! In any rate, i’m enjoy with this beauty multi these days ! Check carefully if the rom 1 (keeps 8 games in it) was properly writed also !

this is how my Ultimate SEGA System16 B looks like ✌️
 

Attachments

  • 85875DBF-3D71-4009-9228-052D3C113542.jpeg
    85875DBF-3D71-4009-9228-052D3C113542.jpeg
    720.5 KB · Views: 102
Last edited:

nonosto

Grand Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
1,437
Reaction score
259
Location
FRANCE
I am sorry but I dont understand how you fixed yours system? What's the little little green pcb without screen?
 

djsheep

Multi Boyz Overlord
Immortal
Multi Boyz
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
5,633
Reaction score
7,954
Location
Brisbane, Australia
That's a RAM upgrade to upgrade the board to System 16C, however it's not useful for this multi.
 

Frank_fjs

Multi Boyz 4 Lyfe
Legendary
Multi Boyz
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
3,431
Reaction score
5,844
Location
Australia - Adelaide
Disregard that, it has no bearing here. It's a memory expansion for one particular non official game.
 

Apocalypse

Staff member
Legendary
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
3,857
Reaction score
6,697
Location
New-Zealand
I am sorry but I dont understand how you fixed yours system? What's the little little green pcb without screen?
Plugging it backwards didn't damage anything on the multi.
However it had taken a knock in a corner and 3 traces were severed. Simply patched them.

Does your donor board use a MCU 87C51?
If so you must pull it.
 
Top