What's new

enidz

Beginner
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Europe
Did you make sure the security is disabled in bios? That might be a culprit.
Yes all my TTX3 unit are unlocked.
and after a failed test with the 760 GC I pluged back the 660 GC and test just to make sure I didn't break anything...
 

Murray

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 8, 2019
Messages
607
Reaction score
599
Location
Oz
Hi,

I just grabbed a 760 GTX (N760-2GD5/OC) like this one :
https://www.ebay.fr/itm/PCI-Express...-GTX-760-2GB-GDDR5-N760-2GD5-OC-/184279894997

I flashed it using nvflash -6 option with the GTX760-model407.rom provide on the forum
(Before the flash I saved the original Bios)
the flash processus went well I filmed it.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1x7D88YYxhe0pudrg5A-kSqpXcTKNwluL/view?usp=sharing

But when I start the TTX3 with the 760 GTX plugged in It stays on the taito type X3 logo with a biip sound every 2 minutes...

I put back the original 660 GTX it's stays only 2s on the TTX3 logo screen and boots fine.

Is there any settings to activate/change in the bios in order to use this flashed card ?

[Edit 1] I put it back in the home computer since I saw on the video that it needed a reboot for the flash to take effect.
save again the GC bios to make sure it was flashed :
Screenshot from 2020-12-19 17-03-04.png

Still the same freeze on the TTX3 logo...

[Edit 2]
I found 2 GC similar (same ref)

1st UEFI -> YES
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/162810/msi-gtx760-2048-140306

2nd UEFI -> NO
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/145232/msi-gtx760-2048-130603

All bios have the same size
Screenshot from 2020-12-19 17-47-30.png


[Edit 3]
my original sha1 hash match the UEFI=yes one on the link
Screenshot from 2020-12-19 17-49-28.png


[Edit 4]
try to flash it with the
100K MSI.GTX760.2048.130603.rom
MD5 Hash:55b695271873155c781999f0830e4277
SHA1 Hash:d78dcb17bd24dbd42f0c3a618ce9db15cde0ff17

It booted but the image was scrambled (as on windows after the flash and reboot)
Now windows refuse to boot with it anymore so I cannot flash the original bios in it.
Am I f*cked with this card ?

Thx.

Put the video card into a computer as a second video card, you should be able to boot from the first video card, and then re-flash the bios on the 760 as the secondary card.


I have no input as to why it's not working though, it's possible that card just doesn't work properly with the non UEFI bios... but that seems a little odd because the earlier cards are ususally the ones that had more of a chance to work with the non uefi bios.
 

enidz

Beginner
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Europe
I didn't take a backup of the original BIOS unfortunately. I'm only assuming it's the MSI.GTX760.2048.130603.rom as it originally booted.

Is the card not booting on the ttx3 or a normal pc?
Nevemind I bought a GTX 760 twin frozr III I'll check if the stock bios is ~98/100K or ~164/166K

The MSI 760 GTX N760-2GD5/OC :
With stock bios (166k) -> didn't boot on TTX3 but boot in windows
With GTX760-model407.rom (166k) -> didn't boot on TTX3 but boot in windows
With MSI.GTX760.2048.130603.rom (100k) -> boot on TTX3 with scrambled image & boot on windows (not every time) with scrambled image

I almost brick my GC with the smaller size bios.

I can see that those 2 card which looks like a lot than yours are labeled 98k bios and UEFI=no
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/146960/msi-gtx760-2048-130801
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/145206/msi-gtx760-2048-130723
That's why I was asking...

Put the video card into a computer as a second video card, you should be able to boot from the first video card, and then re-flash the bios on the 760 as the secondary card.


I have no input as to why it's not working though, it's possible that card just doesn't work properly with the non UEFI bios... but that seems a little odd because the earlier cards are ususally the ones that had more of a chance to work with the non uefi bios.
I managed to boot using HDMI instead of DVI and flash it back to it's original bios !
I choose this card because it was the safe bet ! -> I lost :-p

it seems there's 2 version of this card (N760-2GD5/OC) :
without UEFI and 99k bios https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/145232/msi-gtx760-2048-130603
with UEFI and 166k bios https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/162810/msi-gtx760-2048-140306

I had pics of the card since the ebay link in my previous post will eventually die
 

Attachments

  • 20201220_175313.jpg
    20201220_175313.jpg
    150.3 KB · Views: 46
  • 20201220_175229.jpg
    20201220_175229.jpg
    210 KB · Views: 42

mR_CaESaR

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
585
Reaction score
672
Location
Sydney, Australia
Looking at my model number, I actually can't find it on the site

Here's the sticker information on my one.

gVywLGIl.jpg


2IEwfCnl.jpg


The Hawk looks like a more powerful version of the Twin Frozr.

It's sounding like the generic theory of "No UEFI" isn't 100% based on your results :(
 

Wesker13

Beginner
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Location
France
I have the same Graphique card and i have same problem for the 960gtx impossible boot for multi Windows or bios. Do you have a solution?
so I flashed the bios with the same bios as Mr_Caesar and it works perfectly ^^. Thanks to you.
 

jbrlll

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
90
Reaction score
110
Location
Tehachapi, CA
Last winter I acquired a super cheap junk Taito x3 motherboard, I put an I5-2500k, 8gb 1600mhz, fast io internal with a gunslinger stratos and key in with a commercial 660ti factory bios. The great news is at least it booted. I have an evga 760 and a 780 classified also with my founders 660ti....I’ll start flashing bios now and report the results. My question is do I need to power my cabinet I/o and nesica card reader to boot?
 

Attachments

  • 9275F93F-E14C-448D-9686-FE55B6739B9E.jpeg
    9275F93F-E14C-448D-9686-FE55B6739B9E.jpeg
    245.2 KB · Views: 53
  • 950844BA-FEF4-4F9A-97FA-38223B277642.jpeg
    950844BA-FEF4-4F9A-97FA-38223B277642.jpeg
    159.6 KB · Views: 53

Murray

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 8, 2019
Messages
607
Reaction score
599
Location
Oz
If the Gunslinger stratos hdd and key is not original to that motherboard, then it's not going to work to boot that game, the motherboard bios has the hdd decryption key in it for each unit, so you can't mix and match the hdd's/securtiy keys with other motherboards except the ones they originally came with. I'm sure it's possible, but you will probably need some skills to do it!

That game needs special IO boards as well, so even if you do get the game to boot, it's going to just boot to an IO error screen.

Just throw the multi on there and be done with it!
 

jbrlll

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
90
Reaction score
110
Location
Tehachapi, CA
I tried this card and it works fine, no need to change the bios. I got it to boot to a fresh windows install that i did on the TTX3 system, and it boots and plays nikos multi fine as well with a driver change.

I didn't test it with any official games though, so as a drop in replacement for actual TTX3 original game and dongle setups, it's untested.

EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti FTW Signature 2
Part #: 02G-P4-3664-KR

61p4q5-VrOL._AC_SL1000_.jpg
I have a 660ti FE that boots into your @Niko edited TTX2 game selection screen with no problems; setup: ttx3 pci-e fio connected to a k91x1243a taito universal fio and the nesica CR into the usb on the pci-e ttx3 fio daughterboard. Daughter board DIPS (1on/2-4off). Every game initiates and crashes back to the game menu. The video card has stock bios and drivers, you mention running niko's multi with new drivers. Can you expand on that? Is this the part where I need to unlock the image and insert my 660ti FE drivers? If this is the case what tool will unlock and where do the drivers go? Also I'll go pull one of my taito k91x1204a jamma/fio boards out of a machine and pop it on the test bench to see if its the universal fio causing the problem. No i/o errors and my controls worked fine in the game menu so I'm leaning toward the vid driver. Thanks a ton @Murray it was pretty cool to see the ttx3 running!!
 

skate323k137

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
1,330
Reaction score
892
Location
Michigan
Yes, that should work.
Looks like I over looked the details. Seller sent me this message:

"Please note that memory you purchased is DDR3 ECC registered (RDIMMs) and will not work with regular PC"

I'll look for "regular" ddr3 1333.

Edit: "regular" ddr3 is looking like it will cost 60 to 80 dollars for 16GB. Does that seem right?
 
Last edited:

300wins

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
137
Reaction score
161
Location
San Jose, California
Yeah, sorry about that. I overlooked that its ECC ram too. Funny how ECC ram is cheaper than non Ecc nowadays.
 

mR_CaESaR

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
585
Reaction score
672
Location
Sydney, Australia
I have a 660ti FE that boots into your @Niko edited TTX2 game selection screen with no problems; setup: ttx3 pci-e fio connected to a k91x1243a taito universal fio and the nesica CR into the usb on the pci-e ttx3 fio daughterboard. Daughter board DIPS (1on/2-4off). Every game initiates and crashes back to the game menu. The video card has stock bios and drivers, you mention running niko's multi with new drivers. Can you expand on that? Is this the part where I need to unlock the image and insert my 660ti FE drivers? If this is the case what tool will unlock and where do the drivers go? Also I'll go pull one of my taito k91x1204a jamma/fio boards out of a machine and pop it on the test bench to see if its the universal fio causing the problem. No i/o errors and my controls worked fine in the game menu so I'm leaning toward the vid driver. Thanks a ton @Murray it was pretty cool to see the ttx3 running!!

Try it without the Nesica card reader.

I used the image with a 1243a and it worked fine. Only issue was the 1243a doesn't do 6 buttons (max 4 buttons)
 

skate323k137

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
1,330
Reaction score
892
Location
Michigan
Yeah, sorry about that. I overlooked that its ECC ram too. Funny how ECC ram is cheaper than non Ecc nowadays.
It's all good. Since the seller was cool and refunded immediately, I bought the right RAM from them.
 

jbrlll

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 8, 2018
Messages
90
Reaction score
110
Location
Tehachapi, CA
Try it without the Nesica card reader.

I used the image with a 1243a and it worked fine. Only issue was the 1243a doesn't do 6 buttons (max 4 buttons)
copy, thank you. I will try that tonight. I found a post from @Murray last summer that actually says crashing back into the menu is a graphics driver issue. I'll have to research how to install the drivers tonight, not savvy with software. In the mean time, I knew my 660ti FE was posting past the taito splash screen so I said f..k it and tried just flashing the non-uefi msi 760 bios onto an extra evga760sc that would not get past the splash screen w/stock bios. I used the exact method from @Niko flashing tutorial and provided tools. When my usb image was flashed i just swapped in the msi bios and he newest version of Dos nvflash on his image (wouldnt recognize the 760 with the 7900gs nvflash). Now both video cards boot into the game menu butt crash back to the menu after starting a game. Driver install time!
 

enidz

Beginner
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Europe

mR_CaESaR

Grand Master
Joined
Jul 10, 2018
Messages
585
Reaction score
672
Location
Sydney, Australia
All you can do is take a backup of the bios and then try and flash.

If it doesn't work, just reflash your bios back from the backup
 

Murray

Grand Master
Joined
Oct 8, 2019
Messages
607
Reaction score
599
Location
Oz
I'm not sure it will work if the bios size is different.
 
Top